Apple Chips

Fall is definitely in the air in Northern California! A storm is sweeping in overnight which means snow in the Sierras. Good news for skiers, not so good news for my parent’s garden. Luckily my dad watches the weather channel religiously, and got a head start picking the remaining apples off the trees. Consequently I ended up with a nice boxful of the loot and have been finding creative ways to consume the fruit. I ran across an apple chip recipe that I decided to give a try. I was delightfully surprised with the crispy, crunchy, light, sweet, tangy chips!

I started by prepping the apples. I have this fantastic de Buyer mandoline that works wonders. I sliced through the apples with ease.

Then I dipped the slices in a mixture of cinnamon and brown sugar. From there they went on a sheet pan and baked until crispy and brown.

Recipe: (adapted from the blog The Italian Dishhttp://theitaliandishblog.com/imported-20090913150324/2012/1/2/homemade-apple-chips.html

3-4 medium apples
2 tablespoons light brown sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 225 F degrees.  Prep 2 cookie sheets by lining them with parchment paper.

Use a mandoline to slice the apples as thinly as possible. Mix the brown sugar and cinnamon, then dip the apple slices lightly in the mixture to coat.  Spread the slices on the cookies sheets in a single layer.  Bake for 45 minutes then flip with tongs or a spatula. Bake for another 45 – 60 minutes until brown and crisp.  Transfer to a rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

