Slow Cooker Chicken Tacos

The crock pot (slow cooker) is one of my favorite kitchen appliances. You can dump a few ingredients in and forget about them. When I think of the contents in a crock pot, I think of meat simmering for hours until it’s fall off the bone tender. I decided it was time to bust out my crock pot and try something new. I kept coming across a crock pot chicken tacos recipe online, so I thought I’d give it a try!

The chicken came out tender, juicy, and fell apart with a slight prodding of a fork. I used warm corn tortillas for my tacos, and garnished with queso fresco, cilantro, hot sauce, and sour cream. This recipe was so easy, healthy, and tasty!

Recipe: adapted from a blog called Chocolate Therapy http://mychocolatetherapy.blogspot.com/2012/01/crockpot-chicken-tacos.html

1/2 envelope taco seasoning
5 boneless/skinless chicken breasts
1 16-ounce jar of salsa

Put all ingredients into a crock pot. Stir to coat chicken with the taco seasoning and salsa. Cook on high for 4 to 6 hours (or low for 6 to 8 hours). Shred chicken with a fork.

Serve with your favorite taco fixings: tortillas, salsa, cheese, guacamole, lettuce, cilantro or sour cream.

Leave a Reply

