Fresh Watermelon Agua Fresca

What’s more refreshing than an agua fresca on a scorching hot summer day? I know … drinking an agua fresca on the beach in Santa Cruz on a hot summer day. I was at the farmer’s market in Santa Cruz a couple weeks ago, and a Mexican food stand was serving up these drinks by the ladleful from large jugs. I tried a few of these yummy “fruit waters” including cantaloupe, strawberry, and watermelon. I love that they’re made with fresh fruit, so there is nothing artificial about them.

Back in San Francisco, where the weather is foggy and damp this late June, I found myself strangely still wanting an agua fresca. Sure I could just go to the taqueria down the street and buy one, but I decided to try and make some instead. I had seedless watermelon in the fridge, which I thought would work nicely.

My watermelon was very sweet, so I found that 2 tablespoons of sugar was enough. When making this, it’s important to sweeten to taste depending on the type and sweetness of fruit being used. I like this drink because it’s not overly sweet, most of the sweetness should come from the fruit. I made mine kind of chunky, by adding back some chopped up fruit at the end.

Recipe:

4 cups cubed seeded watermelon, divided

3 cups water

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons fresh lemon or lime

Put 2 cups of cubed watermelon in a blender, then puree. Strain juice by pouring through a sieve into a pitcher, throw away the solids. Add water, sugar, and lime juice to the pitcher and stir. Chop remaining 2 cups of watermelon finely and add to the pitcher. Chill before serving.

Leave a Reply

