Bananas for Banana Cake

Check the updated recipe on Real Working Girl

How often do you find yourself with overripe bananas sitting on the counter? That happens here a lot. Actually, I will intentionally buy extra bananas just to let them sit and get brown and squishy. Once they are sufficiently beyond the stage of eating raw, I usually proceed to make banana bread. But not this time … I wanted to try something a little different, banana cake! Recently I came across a banana cake recipe that drew me in, from a blog called Butteryum. Contrary to this blog’s title this cake actually had very little butter, which I am a fan of. It calls for two, just 2, tablespoons of butter for an 8×8 cake. Most cakes this size usually call for a full stick of butter! I knew I had to try this cake, and that it would be moist with the mashed bananas and sour cream (I used light sour cream to further reduce the calories)!

You may be wondering how this is different from banana bread. For starters there is a silky frosting. You don’t find that on banana bread! Also, I add brown sugar to my banana bread, giving it a deep, almost molasses flavor. This cake is different, it has a lighter crumb and texture. It’s even lighter in color reminding me more of a cake.
Here is the recipe, adapted from Butteryum! I used a different frosting recipe.
Cake: 2/3 cup sugar 1/2 cup light sour cream 1 egg 2 tablespoons butter, softened 3/4 cup mashed ripe bananas 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract 1 cup flour 1/4 teaspoon salt 1/2 teaspoon baking soda Preheat the oven to 350 F degrees. Cream together sugar and butter with a hand held mixer. Beat in the egg. Once incorporated beat in the sour cream. Add bananas and vanilla extract, then mix everything together. In a separate bowl whisk together flour, salt, and baking soda. Fold dry mixture into the banana mixture with a rubber spatula. Mix until incorporated, don’t over mix! Pour into a greased 8×8 pan lined with parchment paper. Bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool before frosting. Frosting: 2 tablespoons butter, softened 3 ounces light cream cheese 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 teaspoon milk 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar Cream butter and cream cheese together until smooth with a hand held mixer. Add the milk and vanilla extract. Slowly add the powdered sugar. Taste the frosting for sweetness as you go (some people like their frosting sweeter than others). Beat until smooth. Frost the cooled cake. Check out my new blog for more delicious recipes: http://realworkinggirl.com/
7 thoughts on “Bananas for Banana Cake

  1. Thrilled to see you tried the recipe – I’m so glad you liked it. I’ll have to give the brown sugar a try sometime. Thanks for linking back to me :).

Leave a Reply

