Key Lime Pie – Without the Lime!

I’ve been thinking about my bag of meyer lemons sitting on the kitchen counter. I still have quite a few from grandma’s tree and am itching to use them…

After some thinking I’ve devised a plan! Since my boyfriend recently mentioned he wanted key lime pie, I’ve decided to incorporate meyer lemons into a key lime pie inspired dessert!

Alright let’s get started. So key lime pie typically has a graham cracker crust with a rich, tart, key lime filling.

Instead of graham cracker crust I am going to make a cookie crust with these Maria cookies I got on sale. I bought these cookies because they remind me of my semester abroad in Spain. My senora would buy sleeves of these cookies, sometimes with chocolate sandwiched between two (a reverse oreo if you will!). These cookies were a perfect afternoon snack after my siesta. I would absolutely love to go back to Spain one day. But for now I have my cookies,and they evoke such great memories!

Cookies

Cookie crumbs from the food processor

Now on to the filling. I am going to use Meyer lemon juice instead of key lime juice. I will make a simple filling of sweetened condensed milk, sour cream, meyer lemon juice and zest. It should only need a few minutes for baking and some time to chill!

I’m only making equivalent to half a pie. I can’t justify making a full pie, especially since there is only two of us to eat it! Believe me we could cash a whole pie in two days because we have no self restraint when it comes to dessert!!!

Recipe:

Crust:

1/2 cup cookie crumbs (I used Maria cookies, but you can use graham crackers, animal crackers, or anything similar)

2 Tbsp melted butter

1/8 cup white sugar

Combine crust ingredients then press into an 8.5 x 4.5 inch loaf pan. Cook crust at 375 F degrees for 10 minutes.

Filling: 

1 1/2 cups of sweetened condensed milk

1/4 cup light sour cream

1/2 cup meyer lemon juice (or regular lemon juice)

1 1/2 tsp lemon zest

Whisk filling ingredients together then pour over the pre-baked crust. Bake at 350 F degrees for about 10 minutes. The filling won’t brown but you should see little bubbles forming on the top. Cool on a wire rack, then transfer to the refrigerator. Eat when chilled!

Leave a Reply

