Farmer’s Market Roasted Vegetables

This weekend I was at the Farmer’s Market perusing the local produce. I decided on some zucchini, asparagus, and a red bell pepper and it only cost me a couple dollars!

Now it’s Monday. Weeknights are all about whipping dinner out quickly. I can usually get dinner on the table within 30 minutes of kicking off my shoes at the front door. It’s definitely not fine dining, but I go for healthy, fresh, fast meals. Tonight I simply roasted the vegetables from the market.

I cranked the oven to 400 degrees F. I cut the pepper and zucchini into similar sized pieces and tossed with some olive oil. I trimmed the asparagus (make sure to snap off the tough ends) and also tossed them in olive oil. On they went to a roasting pan covered in aluminum foil. I sprinkled salt and pepper over the veggies and popped them into the oven. They took about 25 minutes. I checked on them a couple times during the cooking process and gave them a nice flip with some tongs. The veggies got a swirl of good quality olive oil and some parmesan cheese when they came out of the oven.

This is a very simple and healthy side dish for any weeknight meal! Just use whatever is in season: squash, potatoes, eggplant, asparagus, tomatoes ….

Leave a Reply

